Oct 04, 2023  
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2021 
Undergraduate Catalog 2020-2021 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Communication and Media

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences

Communication and Media


Howard Fisher, Ph.D., Chair
Darla Germeroth, Ph.D.
John Kilker, M.F.A.
Rebecca L. Mikesell, Ph.D.
Sufyan Mohammed, Ph.D.
Kimberly A. Pavlick, Ph.D.
Matthew M. Reavy, Ph.D.
Stacy Smulowitz, Ph.D.
Brian Snee, Ph.D.
John J. Strain III, M.A.


The Department of Communication and Media offers five majors: Advertising/Public Relations, Business Communication, Communication, (communication leadership and communication & the law), Journalism & Electronic Media (newspaper, radio, television and online media), and Social Media Strategies. Students within the department are also eligible to be considered for the Accelerated CAS Bachelor’s/M.B.A. Program , which is detailed in the Graduate Studies Catalog. The Department also offers minors in Business Communication, Communication, Social Media Strategies, and Sports Communication.

The Communication and Media Department prepares students for professional careers as well as advanced studies. Students who major in communication fields become knowledgeable about the subject matter from both humanistic and scientific perspectives. They also have opportunities to acquire on-the-job experiences through experiential- and service-learning internships. In addition, courses are designed to serve students in other departments of the University by developing their oral and written communication skills.

For information on the CAS/MBA Five-Year Program, visit our CAS/MBA Five-Year Program  page.

Course Information

Courses for Communication and Media are listed under the prefix COMM.  For more information on these courses visit our Communication and Media Department Courses  page.  For more information on all courses offered, visit our Course Descriptions  page.

For more information about the Communication and Media department, visit its website.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences